Eyes on the Prize: Drama Desk

But where's the drama?

The Drama Desk, which daringly combines both Broadway and Off-Broadway (that explains the Grey Gardens omission, it was on the ballot last year, pre-transfer), announced its awards. Especially interesting in the much debated Best Actress in a Musical Category. As usual, we inquire, who deserved it? Who was robbed? (Aside, of course, from Hell House.)

Awards list after the jump:

2006/2007 DRAMA DESK AWARD WINNERS Outstanding Play: The Coast of Utopia by Tom Stoppard Outstanding Musical: Spring Awakening Outstanding Revival of a Play: Journey’s End by R.C. Sherriff Outstanding Revival of a Musical: Company by Stephen Sondheim and George Furth Outstanding Actor in a Play: Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon) Outstanding Actress in a Play: Eve Best (A Moon for the Misbegotten) Outstanding Actor in a Musical: Raul Esparza (Company) Outstanding Actress in a Musical: TIE Audra McDonald (110 in the Shade) and Donna Murphy (LoveMusik) Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Boyd Gaines (Journey’s End) Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Martha Plimpton (The Coast of Utopia) Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Gavin Lee (Mary Poppins) Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Debra Monk (Curtains) Outstanding Director of a Play: Jack O’Brien (The Coast of Utopia) Outstanding Director of a Musical: Michael Mayer (Spring Awakening) Outstanding Choreography: Andy Blankenbuehler (In The Heights) Outstanding Music: Duncan Sheik (Spring Awakening) Outstanding Lyrics: Steven Sater (Spring Awakening) Outstanding Book of a Musical Rupert Holmes and Peter Stone (Curtains) Outstanding Music for a Play Mark Bennett (The Coast of Utopia) Outstanding Orchestrations: TIE Mary Mitchell Campbell (Company) and Jonathan Tunick (LoveMusik) Outstanding Set Design of a Play: Bob Crowley and Scott Pask (The Coast of Utopia) Outstanding Set Design of a Musical: Bob Crowley (Mary Poppins) Outstanding Costume Design: Catherine Zuber (The Coast of Utopia) Outstanding Lighting Design: Kenneth Posner, Brian MacDevitt, Natasha Katz (The Coast of Utopia) Outstanding Sound Design: Gregory Clarke (Journey’s End) Outstanding Solo Performance: Vanessa Redgrave (The Year of Magical Thinking) Unique Theatrical Experience: Edward Scissorhands In addition, the following non-competitive awards were presented: Outstanding Ensemble Performances: The cast of In The Heights The cast of Lebensraum

Upcoming Events

To John Kander and Fred Ebb for 42 years of excellence in advancing the art of musical theater.

To Austin Pendleton – actor, director, playwright, teacher – A Renaissance man of the American theater.

To Transport Group for its breadth of vision and its presentation of challenging production.

To National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene for preserving for 92 consecutive seasons the cultural legacy of Yiddish speaking theater of America.

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >