Friday's Headlines: Paterson enrages enviros with state backtrack on power plant emissions

[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Friday New York headlines...

Paterson enrages enviros by going back on NY promise to crack down on power plant emissions.

After hubbub, Gandhi items sell for $1.8 million in auction.

Landmark law giving mayor control of schools coming up for renewal; chancellor Klein's dictatorial style will become a focus.

Tone-deaf testimony: Borukhova, still under cross-examination, claims she heard no shots as her dentist ex-husband was fired upon three times at close range.

Tenants at Stuyvesant Town and Peter Cooper Village win court victory; appeals court says rent raised wrongfully, could cost landlord $200 million.

Why your peanut butter or hamburger patty could kill you: the government is overwhelmed, so food companies hire private auditors who rubberstamp inspections.

Rabbi's molest trial continues: ex-wife tearfully testifies she found him in bed with with daughter.

Thousands of union members rally at City Hall to protest budget cuts.

Cabbie in infant-ditch scheme now in trouble for attacking a passenger.

Lucky bastard: Man falls on subway tracks in Brooklyn station, train passes safely over him.

Abandoned, foreclosed homes are becoming incubators for crime in Queens.

Tenants saved from burning West Side building with rescue buckets.

Mourning Fubar, a year after crane collapse killed the watering hole.

A-Rod will forego surgery for labrum tear and play through hip injury.

Rangers can feel refreshed for playoff run after defeating Islanders, 4-2.

The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:

Letters: Good 'Stuff'
La Dolce Musto: Which American Idol Star is a Lesbyterian?

Feature: Bloomberg's 'Golden' Republican, by Tom Robbins

Calendar: The guide to your week

Feingold: This Beautiful City, Our Town, and Winter's Tale
More theater this week

Art: Lutz Bacher gets damaged

Sietsema: Introducing La Superior's Goth-Mex
DiGregorio: Floral Park's Mumbai Xpress

Hoberman: Zack Snyder didn't ruin Watchmen -- he just sapped it of its superpowers
Foundas: Rip Torn, roaring, at Anthology
More films opening this week

Harvilla: David Byrne remains in the light
More music: The joys of DIY disco, Viva Talibam!, A beginner's guide to the Daktaris

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >