Friday's Headlines: With Bernie in jail, focus moves to his wife, family

[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Friday New York headlines...

Madoff expresses regret as he pleads guilty and goes to jail; his aim is to shield rest of family.

...but his wife Ruth may have to pack her bags as the feds go after Madoff properties.

"Don't be evil," is Google's motto; Daily News makes the case the search company has become exactly that.

Cramer makes nice on Daily Show, but Stewart jabs him repeatedly.

Tough times at the Met: the art museum lays off 74.

Governors Island so broke it may close; Bloomberg suggests the city take it over from the state.

9/11 families that sued rather than take quicker Congress fund money have ended up with settlements about twice as large, but was that really worth it?

Middle school gives out condoms as part of health fair; parents offended, so now school apologizing, because everyone knows 7th and 8th graders never have sex.

Bizarre: 87-year-old riding his bike on Long Island bursts into flames and dies; cigarette likely ignited his nylon jacket.

14-year-old Queens boy collapses, dies of heart attack, playing basketball after school.

Former Met Ambiorix Burgos found guilty of smacking his girlfriend around, faces up to a year in jail.

Rangers roll over Predators in Nashville, 4-2.

The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:

Letters: Seeing May Be Believing
La Dolce Musto: Bernie Madoff Mocked at Party!
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Double Deal

Feature: Bloomberg's Dark Knight, by Wayne Barrett

Feingold: Guys and Dolls, and more...
More Theater this week

Art: Pol Bury at Chelsea Art Museum, and more...

Sietsema: Mustang Thakali scales the heights of Nepalese cuisine
DiGregorio: The new incarnation of La Fonda del Sol

Hoberman: In Private Century and A Lust for Ecstasy, home video as cinema
Pinkerton: The Last House on the Left's exploitation is quaintly nostalgic
Foundas: From chaos, hope in Japanese films Tôkyô Sonata and Megane
More films opening this week

Harvilla: No U2 shadenfreude, baby
More music: The-Dream's logic, The Pogues roll triumphantly on, SXSW tip sheet 2009

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >