Monday's Headlines: Corrupt ex-cop suspected of killing girlfriend, wounding another

[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Monday New York headlines...

Ex-police officer fired for corruption is suspected of killing his Brooklyn girlfriend, wounding another yesterday.

Brooklyn teenager, 17, chases troublemakers from a party, drops dead of a heart attack.

Father picks up Pace University degree for daughter killed by drunk driver.

Foreclosed homes go fast at massive Javits Center auction; a few protested outside.

Bill Thompson steamed that city overtime pay topped $1 billion last year.

Mob no longer controlling bus drivers' union vote, says the Times. Sure about that? See the Voice's Tom Robbins on the 'bus fellas' union.

Revival in the Rockaways is slipping away with abandoned stores.

A couple of night sky lovers want the city to turn out the lights long enough for folks to see stars.

Despite slam by Jon Stewart, CNBC doing just fine in the recession.

Carr: It's time newspapers started colluding to save themselves.

A-Rod to have hip surgery this morning...Jeter says Yanks will "be all right" without him.

Rangers win third straight, beating Buffalo 4-3.

Nets hand Knicks a 106-101 loss.

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >