Saturday's Headlines: Bernie doesn't like jail, attorneys ask for release until sentencing

[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Saturday New York headlines...

After one night in the slammer, Madoff's attorneys ask that he be released from jail while awaiting sentencing.

Don't feel too sorry for Bernie's victims: many were financial dumbasses.

The Jellyfish Solution: Some out-of-work guy sells an aquarium, and the Times calls it a trend.

Hurrying up that nose job before the health insurance goes away. (More Times white panic in tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How's a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, others pawn high-priced art to keep wolf from the door. 5. Oh the Humanities! Profs squirm at making the case for practical uses of liberal arts degree. 6. Developers face terrifying prospect of only getting $1.1 million for a 2-bedroom condo. 7. Laid-off 55-year-old human resources coordinator with wealthy day-trader husband takes unspeakably menial position, working for a week as a nanny. 8. Someone get the smelling salts! -- women at Barney's now buying $300 face creams only three at a time instead of six. 9. Ultimate white nightmare: from $70K manager to $12/hour janitor. 10. Dumping the Rolls Royce only because it's unfashionable. 11. My horrible McMansion is suddenly worth only $1 million, where's my bailout? 12. The riches are panicking, stuffing $1 million cash in $4,000 safes, now selling like hotcakes. 13. Socialite at charity ball forced to wear a 10-year-old dress for the second time.)

With Weiner holding back, Bloomberg has little opposition so far in his re-election attempt.

Dwyer: Theater designer, tired of massive waste, finds a way to recycle show detritus.

Knicks win third straight, beating Timberwolves 102-94.

Nets determined to move to Brooklyn for 2011-2012 season.

Former Yankees player Bernie Williams accused of hitting a woman in a Puerto Rico bar.

The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:

Letters: Seeing May Be Believing
La Dolce Musto: Bernie Madoff Mocked at Party!
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Double Deal

Feature: Bloomberg's Dark Knight, by Wayne Barrett

Feingold: Guys and Dolls, and more...
More Theater this week

Art: Pol Bury at Chelsea Art Museum, and more...

Sietsema: Mustang Thakali scales the heights of Nepalese cuisine
DiGregorio: The new incarnation of La Fonda del Sol

Hoberman: In Private Century and A Lust for Ecstasy, home video as cinema
Pinkerton: The Last House on the Left's exploitation is quaintly nostalgic
Foundas: From chaos, hope in Japanese films Tôkyô Sonata and Megane
More films opening this week

Harvilla: No U2 shadenfreude, baby
More music: The-Dream's logic, The Pogues roll triumphantly on, SXSW tip sheet 2009

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >