Sunday's Headlines: Hate-Crime Suspect Claims Self-Defense

HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset

Your Sunday New York headlines...

Hate-crime suspect Keith Phoenix claims self-defense in murder of Ecuadoran immigrant, his lawyer says victim kicked the door of Phoenix's van, reached for (nonexistent) weapon.

Long-reviled Rockefeller drug laws swiftly being dismantled by Paterson, Democratic legislature.

Crime's down, but murder is up: will New York go back to the bad old days in a recession?

Ed Koch ready to go: already has tombstone in place, though the 84-year-old is feeling OK.

Ultimate white nightmare: from $70K manager to $12/hour janitor -- "survival jobs" in the new economy. (More Times white panic over tough times: 1. New Yorkers facing disastrous life on less than $500,000/year; 2. How's a guy supposed to feed himself on only $160,000? 3. Couple making $55,000 is literally starving to death. 4. Annie Leibovitz pawns her photos, other riches seeking cash for high-priced art to keep wolf from the door. 5. Oh the Humanities! Profs squirm at the the thought of making the case for practical uses of liberal arts degree. 6. Developers face terrifying prospect of only getting $1.1 million for a 2-bedroom condo. 7. Laid-off 55-year-old human resources coordinator with wealthy day trader husband takes unspeakably menial position while on job search, working for a week as a nanny. 8. Someone get the smelling salts!-- women at Barney's now buying $300 face creams only three at a time instead of six.)

The Post estimates "tea party" gathering of conservatives objecting to Obama policies at only 150. See Roy Edroso's report from the scene.

Stupid daily newspaper tricks: Times reporter wears Snuggie in Times Square, Daily News reporter wears one on streets of Brooklyn

Sullenberger peforms miracle Hudson landing, but won't be able to return to flying without time in a simulator - it's the rules.

Dwyane Wade walks all over Knicks, scores 46 in 120-115 defeat in Miami.

Offense returns in a big way: Rangers 6, Avalanche 1

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >