Wednesday's Headlines: Madoff swindle as much as $65 billion; faces 150 years in prison

[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Wednesday New York headlines...

Madoff theft total up to $65 billion; faces up to 150 years in prison when he pleads guilty tomorrow.

...and his wife is now target of probe for her role.

Paterson may compromise on Rockefeller drug law revision; throwing a bone to Republicans opposed to Democratic rollback.

Cops bust up Trinitarios drug gang in Washington Heights, arresting 34 members of mostly Dominican cabal, including three leaders.

Borukhova found guilty in murder of her ex-husband; the trial has been miserable for NY's small Bukharian Jewish community.

Gillibrand getting the help of many of Clinton's old crew.

7-year-old girl charms reporters as doctor describes the surgery to remove tumor that involved taking out six of her organs.

Firefighter delivers baby in the back of a livery cab.

Jury still thinking over a verdict in rabbi child-molest trial.

Mob defendant's lawyer tells jury his client was too drunk all the time to be the trusted killer he's accused of being.

Your cellphone tells advertisers all they want to know about you.

In the Bronx, separating the boys and girls at fifth grade seems to be working.

"Racino" at Aqueduct is nixed by Albany.

Joba Chamberlain looking like his previous self in successful spring outing.

Knicks avoid further disaster, beat Bucks in Milwaukee, 120-112.

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >