Wednesday's Headlines: Natasha Richardson hit nothing, simply fell in beginner's ski lesson, public waiting to hear extent of head injuries

[HARKAVY is now blogging at The Smart Asset]

Your Wednesday New York headlines...

Natasha Richardson flown to New York, public still waiting for word of how serious her head injuries are from skiing accident...

...on life support, 'brain dead' say family members.

IRS plans deduction to help Madoff victims, but can't do anything about their stupidity.

Tracking down an anonymous hero: actor jumps onto subway tracks to rescue man, leaps out of the way, then catches the train himself.

Bad economy means performers on subway will get more numerous, even more annoying.

Calling bullshit on the concept of "retention pay," supposedly needed to keep talent at financial firms.

Mob hit man Carneglia found guilty of four murders.

Department of Justice won't stand in the way of Bloomberg's term-limits coup.

Crappy elevators in public housing cause lots of injuries.

Conflict-of-interest allegations catch up with parking-ticket judge.

David Wright provides heroics in Team USA's ninth-inning rally.

Mariano Rivera, the ageless Yankees wonder, looks good in spring training debut.

Rangers down Montreal in 4-3 shootout.

The lineup for this week's issue of the Village Voice:

Letters: Tsk-tsk
La Dolce Musto: Shocking Secret about Gay Porn Star
Tom Robbins: Bloomberg's Homeless Pledges Fell Far Short

Feature: The Raw Intensity of New York's Elite Youth Basketball, by Graham Rayman

Spring Guide: David Levine Messes with Imperfection in Venice Saved: A Seminar
More Theater this week

Art: In VB64, Vanessa Beecroft Sings the Body Eclectic...

Books: Mary Gaitskill's Trapdoors and Mirror Balls

Sietsema:Foamy and Dappled at Buttermilk Channel

Hoberman: The Excruciating Details of Death-by-Starvation in Hunger
More films opening this week

Harvilla: The Hesitant Triumph of Britney Spears
More music: The Brilliant Disguises of Will Oldham, and much more...

Find it at

Michael Musto's blog (La Daily Musto) and column (La Dolce Musto)
Wayne Barrett: news features and latest blogging
Tom Robbins: the column and latest blogging

News blog Runnin' Scared, featuring Roy Edroso, and including Jockbeat by Allen Barra
Music & arts blog, Sound of the City
Food blog Fork in the Road
Ward Harkavy blogs the financial world at The Smart Asset

J. Hoberman's film reviews
Michael Feingold's theater reviews
Robert Sietsema's food column, Counter Culture
Sarah DiGregorio's food column, Fork in the Road
Rob Harvilla's music column, Down in Front
Graham Rayman's news features and latest blogging
Elizabeth Dwoskin's news features and latest blogging

How to reach us:

Editor: Tony Ortega (tortega at
Senior editor: Ward Harkavy (wharkavy at
Arts & culture editor: Brian Parks (bparks at
Film editor: Allison Benedikt (abenedikt at
Music editor: Rob Harvilla (rharvilla at
Web editor: Camille Dodero (cdodero at

Calendar, theater/comedy listings: Angela Ashman (aashman at
Food listings: Araceli Cruz (acruz at
Music listings: Stacey Anderson (sanderson at
Film/dance listings: Eudie Pak (epak at

Wayne Barrett (wbarrett at
Sarah DiGregorio (sdigregorio at
Elizabeth Dwoskin (edwoskin at
Roy Edroso (redroso at
Michael Feingold (mfeingold at
J. Hoberman (jhoberman at
Michael Musto (musto at
Graham Rayman (grayman at
Tom Robbins (trobbins at
Robert Sietsema (rsietsema at

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >