Film Poll 2013

Actor — Votes for Oscar Isaac

Melissa Anderson1st
Sean Axmaker2nd
Richard Brody3rd
Monica Castillo1st
Justin Chang1st
Jordan Cronk3rd
Mike D'Angelo2nd
Peter Debruge1st
Steve Erickson1st
David Fear2nd
Jon Frosch1st
Jack Giroux3rd
Ed Gonzalez3rd
Andrew Grant1st
Tim Grierson1st
Larry Gross1st
Tomas Hachard2nd
Eugene Hernandez1st
Aaron Hillis3rd
Don Kaye2nd
Adam Kempenaar1st
Ben Kenigsberg2nd
Peter Knegt1st
Michael Koresky3rd
Robert Levin2nd
Angelo MureddaUnranked
Adam NaymanUnranked
Amy Nicholson3rd
Michael Nordine3rd
Mark Olsen3rd
Michelle OrangeUnranked
James QuandtUnranked
Katey Rich2nd
Joshua Rothkopf2nd
Nick Schager1st
Michael Sicinski3rd
Brent SimonUnranked
Jeremy Smith3rd
Sara VizcarrondoUnranked

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.