Film Poll 2013

Film — Votes for Before Midnight

Robert AbeleUnranked
Sam Adams6th
David Ansen1st
Sean Axmaker6th
Justin Chang1st
A.A. Dowd2nd
Alonso Duralde7th
Steve Erickson5th
David Fear1st
Ed Gonzalez10th
Tim Grierson4th
Tomas Hachard1st
Odie Henderson4th
Adam Kempenaar4th
Jonathan KieferUnranked
Peter Knegt3rd
Eric Kohn3rd
Dan Kois1st
Michael Koresky3rd
Phillip Lopate3rd
Patrick Z. McGavin1st
Kristi MitsudaUnranked
Rob NelsonUnranked
Michael Nordine2nd
Michelle OrangeUnranked
Nicolas RapoldUnranked
Mara Reinstein8th
Katey Rich4th
Joshua Rothkopf9th
Mike Rubin1st
Nick Schager2nd
Andrew Schenker5th
Brent SimonUnranked
Jeremy Smith3rd
Dana Stevens5th
Ryan Stewart1st
Anne Thompson6th
Scott Tobias5th

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.