Thurston Moore, Ian MacKaye, Jonathan Lethem Head Up Brooklyn Book Festival

Hard to figure out who's missing from the Brooklyn Book Festival's superlative lineup—Pynchon? DeLillo? The event, which takes place over the improbable course of one day—Sunday, September 14—around Brooklyn's Borough Hall, is if nothing else a humiliatingly accurate diagnosis of the neighborhood's literary tastes: Thurston Moore and Ian MacKaye discussing the "parallel worlds of independent music and book publishing"; local geographer Jonathan Lethem reading fiction with George Pelecanos; Richard Price, rounding out the ex-Wire-writer group, teaming with A.M. Holmes to talk about going the F. Scott Fitzgerald route and writing for the screen.

Joan Didion is there, talking politics no less, representing the New York Review of Books on a panel about the next administration (is she for Obama, hopefully?). Local fiction writers Rivka Galchen and Ed Park (who's already threatening to tell some sort of first-name–based joke, given that he's on a panel with both Chuck—ne Charles—Klosterman and Charles Bock) prove someone over there is still reading books in 2008. Top-shelf dudes Jonathan Franzen and Russell Banks provide gravitas; Jimmy Breslin and John Manbeck hold it down for old New York.

The list of confirmed authors is long, and ridiculous, and can be found after the jump. Will this be the day you finally meet your wife?

The full roster:

Henry Alford Jose Eduardo Agualusa Dorothy Allison Russell Banks Moustafa Bayoumi Mo Beasley Paul Beatty Ross Benjamin Charles Bock Philip Boehm Mirko Bonne Jimmy Breslin Breyten Breytenbach Geoff Canada Susan Choi Kate Christensen Melissa Clark Gabriel Cohen Ta-Nehisi Coates Celine Curiol Frank Delaney Stacey D'Erasmo Joan Didion Robert Draper Nathan Englander Rachel Fereshleiser Nick Flynn Jonathan Franzen David Frum Andrew Sean Greer Ben Greenman Philippe Grimbert Paul Guest Pete Hamill Theodore Hamm Kathryn Harrison Matthea Harvey A.M. Homes Pico Iyer Steven Jenkins Oonya Kempadoo Porochista Khakpour Josh Kilmer-Purcell Lily Koppel Jonathan Lethem Tao Lin Sandra Tsing Loh Leonard Lopate Phillip Lopate John R. MacArthur Ian MacKaye John Manbeck Alice Mattison Patrick McGrath Terry McMillan Joe Meno Thurston Moore Arthur Nersesian Jay Neugeboren Fae Myenne Ng Elizabeth Nunez D. Nurkse Joseph O’Neill Ed Park Jose Luis Peixoto George Pelecanos Arthur Phillips Darryl Pinckney Katha Pollitt Kevin Powell Richard Price David Rakoff Elizabeth Reddin Nathaniel Rich Simon Rich Steven Rinella Cristy C. Road Carl Hancock Rux Linda Sanchez Loretta Sanchez Esmeralda Santiago Said Sayrafiezadeh Ken Siegelman Amy Shearn Owen Sheers Robert Silvers Larry Smith Patricia Smith Amanda Stern Manil Suri Paco I. Taibo II Paul Tough Nikki Turner Linn Ullmann Matt Weiland Jacob Weisberg Sean Wilsey Dirk Wittenborn Naomi Wolf Peter Wortsman Kevin Young Gary Younge

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >