Cab Drivers Who Won't Go to Brooklyn Could Be Fined $1,000
Was it just last week that we wrote about that crazy story of a cab driver who actually tried to yank his Brooklyn-going passengers out of his cab? In related news, the clearly aggravated City Council has unanimously passed a measure that would increase fines on cab drivers who either overcharge or refuse to take a passenger to a requested outer borough to $500 (from $350) for a first offense and as much as $1,000 (from $500) for a second offense in two years. "A third offense within three years could cost the cabby their license and $1,000," reports the New York Post.
Mayor Bloomberg is expected to sign the bill into law in the next few weeks, with fines going in effect in three months. Enforcement would rely, of course, on having enough time to actually get a medallion number from your would-be driver before he speeds away, leaving you stranded on a Manhattan street, mouth gaping. And then having the diligence to report him for it afterward.
As Council Transportation Committee Chairman James Vacca (D-Bronx) said, "People have a right to go where they want to go." Tip: Get in the cab first before giving the driver your outer-borough destination.
Get the This Week's Top Stories Newsletter
Every week we collect the latest news, music and arts stories — along with film and food reviews and the best things to do this week — so that you’ll never miss Village Voice's biggest stories.
- New York City's Food Pantries Are Struggling to Keep Up With a Growing Demand For Meals
Sat., Nov. 28, 12:00am
Sat., Nov. 28, 12:00pm
Sat., Nov. 28, 1:30pm
Sat., Nov. 28, 7:30pm
- As Islamophobic Rhetoric Gets Louder, NYC Muslims Fear for Their Mosques
- Forget Big Chain Theaters — Watch Movies at These Cool NYC Spots Instead