Melinda Katz Elected Queens Borough President

Melinda Katz will be the next Queens borough president, cruising to victory with 80 percent of votes. Katz, a Democrat who has served on the City Council and in the state Assembly, takes the seat of Helen Marshall, who served the maximum 12 years.

Most of the council races were uncompetitive, easily won by Democratic candidates. In two of the three closest races, incumbents warded off a game challenger. Elizabeth Crowley, a Democrat in the traditionally Republican 30th District, topped Republican Craig Caruana by 18 points. Eric Ulrich, the sole Republican in the borough to win a seat, defended his south Queens district against Lew Simon, with 53 percent of votes. In the race for the open 19th District seat, Paul Vallone, a Democrat, took 54 percent to defeat Republican Dennis Saffran.

Below is a complete list of the Queens results:

Borough President WINNER: Melinda Katz, Democratic Party: 76.1 percent Aurelio A. Arcabascio, Republican Party Melinda Katz, Working Families Party Everly D. Brown, Jobs & Education Party

See Also: Our Election 2013 Coverage

City Council, 19th District WINNER: Paul A. Vallone, Democratic Party, Independence Party Dennis Saffran, Republican Party, Conservative Party, Reform

City Council, 20th District WINNER: Peter A. Koo, Democratic Party, Conservative Party Evergreen C. Chou, Green Party Martha Flores-Vazquez, Jobs & Education Party Sunny Hahn, Reform Party

City Council, 21st District WINNER: Julissa Ferreras, Democratic Party

City Council, 22nd District WINNER: Costa Constantinides, Democratic Party, Working Families Party Daniel P. Peterson, Republican Party Danielle M. De Stefano, Conservative Party, Independence Party Lynne Serpe, Green Party Jerry Kann, Populist Party

City Council, 23rd District WINNER: Mark S. Weprin, Democratic Party Joseph R. Concannon, Reform Party

City Council, 24th District WINNER: Rory I. Lancman, Democratic Party, Working Families Party Alexander Blishteyn, Republican Party, Conservative Party Mujib Rahman, Faith and Values Party

City Council, 25th District WINNER: Daniel Dromm, Democratic Party, Working Families Party

City Council 26th, District WINNER: James G. Van Bramer, Democratic Party, Working Families Party

See more results on page two


City Council, 27th District WINNER: I. Daneek Miller, Democratic Party, Working Families Party Sondra H. Peeden, Independence Party

City Council, 28th District WINNER: Ruben Wills, Democratic Party Mireille P. Leroy, Unity Party

City Council, 29th District WINNER: Karen Koslowitz, Democratic Party Jon Torodash, Civic Virtue Party

City Council, 30th District WINNER: Elizabeth S. Crowley, Democratic Party, Working Families Party Craig N. Caruana, Republican Party, Conservative Party

City Council, 31st District WINNER: Donovan Richards, Democratic Party Scherie S. Murray, Republican Party Ricardo A. Brown, Jobs & Education Party

City Council, 32nd District WINNER: Eric A. Ulrich, Republican Party, Conservative Party, Independence Party Lew M. Simon, Democratic Party

City Council, 33rd District WINNER: Stephen T. Levin, Democratic Party, Working Families Party John A. Jasilli, Conservative Party

City Council, 34th District WINNER: Antonio Reynoso, Democratic Party, Working Families Party Gladys Santiago, School Choice Party

Justice of the Supreme Court, 11th District WINNER: Jeremy S. Weinstein, Democratic Party, Republican Party WINNER: Robert J. McDonald, Democratic Party, Republican Party, Conservative Party WINNER: Barry A. Schwartz, Democratic Party John F. Casey, Conservative Party Kerry John Katsorhis, Republican Party, Conservative Party

New York City Civil Court, First District WINNER: David M. Hawkins

New York City Civil Court, Second District WINNER: Sally E. Unger

New York City Civil Court, Third District WINNER: Anna Culley

Send story tips to the author, Albert Samaha

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >