Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1965 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • The Paper Bag Players
      for raising the level of children's theatre through intelligence, imagination, and respect for its audiences
    • Caffe Cino and Cafe La Mama
      for creating opportunities for new playwrights to confront audiences and gain experience of the real theatre
  • Set Design
    • No award given
  • Obie Committee
    • Richard Gilman, Gordon Rogoff, Michael Smith
  • Music
    • No award given
  • Distinguished Plays
    • Maria Irene Fornes, "Promenade" and "The Successful Life of 3"
  • Distinguished Performances
    • Brian Bedford, The Knack
    • Robert Duvall, A View from the Bridge
    • Roberts Blossom, Do Not Pass Go
    • Rosemary Harris, APA Repertory
    • Joseph Chaikin, "Victims of Duty" and "The Exception and the Rule"
    • James Earl Jones, Baal
    • Margaret De Priest, The Place for Chance
    • Frances Sternhagen, "The Room" and "A Slight Ache"
    • Dean Dittmann, The Cradle Will Rock
    • Sada Thompson, Tartuffe
  • Distinguished Direction
    • No award given
  • Best Musical Production
    • , The Cradle Will Rock
  • Best Foreign Play
    • No award given
  • Best Direction
    • Ulu Grosbard, A View from the Bridge
  • Best Costumes
    • Willa Kim, The Old Glory
  • Best American Play
    • Robert Lowell, The Old Glory


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >