Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1968 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • El Teatro Campesino
      for creating a workers' theatre to demonstrate the politics of survival
    • The Fortune Society
      for expanding public awareness of the problems of the ex-convict and the prison system in America
    • The Negro Ensemble Company
      for Sustained Excellence in Repertory Theatre and the development of new theatrical talent
    • San Francisco Mime Troupe
      for uniting theatre and revolution and grooving in the park
  • Obie Committee
    • Clive Barnes, John Lahr, Michael Smith
  • Distinguished Plays
    • Israel Horovitz, The Indian Wants the Bronx
    • John Guare, Muzzeka
    • Sam Shepard, "Forensic and the Navigator" and "Melodrama Play"
  • Distinguished Performances
    • John Cazale, "Line" and "The Indian Wants the Bronx"
    • James Coco, Fragments
    • Jean David, Istanboul
    • Cliff Gorman, The Boys in the Band
    • Mari Gorman, "The Memorandum" and "Walking to Waldheim"
    • Moses Gunn, The Negro Ensemble Company repertory
    • Peggy Pope, Mama
    • Roy R. Scheider, Stephen D.
  • Distinguished Direction
    • John Hancock, A Midsummer Night's Dream
    • Rip Torn, The Beard
  • Best Musical
    • Gertrude Stein and Al Carmines, In Circles
  • Best Foreign Play
    • Vaclav Havel, The Memorandum
  • Best Director
    • Michael A. Schultz, Song of the Lusitanian Bogey
  • Best Design
    • Robert LaVigne, "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and "Endecott and the Red Cross"
  • Best American Play
    • No award given
  • Best Actress
    • Billie Dixon, The Beard
  • Best Actor
    • Al Pacino, The Indian Wants the Bronx


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >