Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1978 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Ain't Misbehavin'
    • Eric Bentley
    • Joseph Dunn and Irja Koljonen, Preface
    • James Lapine, Photograph
    • Jerry Mayer, Taud Show
    • Stuart Sherman
    • Squat
    • Winston Tong
  • Playwriting
    • No award given
  • Performance
    • Richard Bauer, "Landscape of the Body" and "The Dybbuk"
    • Nell Carter, Ain't Misbehavin'
    • Alma Cuervo, Uncommon Women
    • Swoosie Kurtz, Uncommon Women
    • Kaiulani Lee, Safe House
    • Bruce Myers, The Dybbuk
    • Lee S. Wilkof, The Present Tense
  • Obie Committee
    • Michael Feingold, Terry Curtis Fox, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Arthur Sainer, Ross Wetzsteon, Richard Eder, Gordon Rogoff
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Peter Schumann's Bread & Puppet Theatre
  • Direction
    • Robert Allan Ackerman, Prayer for My Daughter
    • Thomas Bullard, Statements After an Arrest Under the Immorality Act
    • Elizabeth Swados, Runaways
  • Design
    • Garland Wright and John Arnone, K
    • Robert Yodice, Museum
  • Best New American Play
    • Lee Breuer, Shaggy Dog Animation


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >