Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1987 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Charles Ludlam and the Ridiculous Theatrical Company
  • Special Citations
    • Judith Malina, The Living Theatre Retrospectacle
    • The Woza Afrika Foundation
    • Dario Fo and Franca Rame
    • The Non-Traditional Casting Project
    • The La Mama Great Jones Repertory Company, "Fragments of a Greek Trilogy"
      for the revival of this play
  • Performance
    • Morgan Freeman, Driving Miss Daisy
    • Dana Ivey, Driving Miss Daisy
    • John Kelly, Pass the Blutwurst, Bitte (The Egon Schiele St)
    • Laura Hicks, On the Verge
    • Robin Bartlett, The Early Girl
    • Rob Besserer, The Hunger Artist
    • Anthony Holland, The Hunger Artist
    • Clarice Taylor, Moms
    • Bill Raymond, Cold Harbor
    • Gcina Mhlophe, Born in the RSA
    • Philip Bosco
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Black-eyed Susan
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Obie Grant
    • The Irish Arts Center
    • Brooklyn Arts and Cultural Association (BACA)
    • The New Theatre of Brooklyn
  • Obie Committee
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Robert Massa, Gordon Rogoff, Michael Feingold, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Voice Judges
    • Billie Allen, Norris Houghton, Guest Judges
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman
  • Direction
    • Garland Wright, On The Verge
  • Design
    • James F. Ingalls
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Andrew Jackness
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Robert Israel, The Hunger Artist
      Set and Costume Design
    • Paul Gallo, The Hunger Artist
      Lighting Design
  • Best New American Play
    • Richard Foreman, "The Cure" and "Film Is Evil, Radio Is Good"


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >