Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1990 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Money awarded to ACT-UP for the fight against AIDS
  • Special Citations
    • Eric Bogosian, Sex, Drugs, Rock & Roll
    • Dan Hurlin, A Cool Million
    • Joseph Papp
      For his courageous stand against censorship
    • San Francisco Mime Troupe, Seeing Double
  • Performance
    • Alec Baldwin, Prelude to a Kiss
    • Elzbieta Czyzewska, Crowbar
    • Karen Evans-Kandel, Lear
    • Marcia Jean Kurtz, The Loman Family Picnic and When She Danced
    • Ruth Maleczech, Lear
    • Greg Mehrten, Lear
    • Stephen Mellor, Terminal Hip
    • Isabell Monk, Lear
    • Jean Stapleton, Mountain Language and The Birthday Party
    • Pamela Tyson, Imperceptible Mutabilities in the Third Kingdom
    • Courtney B. Vance, My Children! My Africa!
    • Danitra Vance, Spunk
    • Lillias White, Romance in Hard Times
    • Mary Shultz
      Sustained Excellence in Performance
  • Obie Grant
    • Dixon Place
    • Pregones
    • WOW Cafe
    • BACA New Works Project
    • 52nd Street Project
  • Obie Committee
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman
    • Michael Feingold, Erika Munk, Alisa Solomon, Voice Judges
    • Rene Buch, Margo Jefferson, Guest judges
  • Direction
    • Liz Diamond, Imperceptible Mutabilities in the Third Kingdom
    • Norman Rene, Prelude to a Kiss
    • Jim Simpson, Bad Penny
    • George C. Wolfe, Spunk
  • Design
    • Daniel Moses Schreler
      Sustained excellence of sound design
    • George Tsypin
      Sustained excellence of set design
  • Best New American Play
    • Craig Lucas, Prelude to a Kiss
      (three way tie)
    • Suzan-Lori Parks, Imperceptible Mutabilities in the Third Kingdom
      (three way tie)
    • Mac Wellman, "Bad Penny," "Crowbar," and "Terminal Hip"
      (three way tie)


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >