Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1991 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • The Wooster Group
  • Special Citations
    • Blue Man Group
    • John Kelly, Love of a Poet
    • BACA Downtown
    • New York Theatre Workshop
    • New York Shakespeare Festival, 1990-91 Season
    • Lori Seid
      Stage management
    • Theater for the New City, Stop the War: A Festival for Peace in the Middle East
  • Playwriting
    • John Guare, Six Degrees of Separation
    • Mac Wellman, Sincerity Forever
  • Performance
    • Eileen Atkins, A Room of One's Own
    • Stockard Channing, Six Degrees of Separation
    • Joan Copeland, The American Plan
    • Angela Goethals, The Good Times Are Killing Me
    • Tony Goldwyn, The Sum of Us
    • Jan Leslie Harding, Sincerity Forever
    • John Leguizamo, Mambo Mouth
    • Michael Lombard, What's Wrong With This Picture?
    • Jodie Markell, Machinal
    • Anne Pitonia, Pygmalion
    • Ron Rifkin, The Subtance of Fire
    • Kathleen Widdoes, Tower of Evil
    • Bette Bourne, Precious Pearl, Peggy Shaw, and Lois Weaver, Belle Reprieve
      Ensemble performance
  • Obie Grant
    • En Garde Arts
    • Hearts and Voices
    • Mettawee River Theater Company
  • Obie Committee
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman
    • Michael Feingold, Robert Massa, Gordon Rogoff, Voice Judges
    • Alisa Solomon, Assistant to the committee
    • Margo Jefferson, Joan Macintosh, Guest judges
  • Direction
    • Michael Grief, Machinal
    • Lisa Peterson, Light Shining in Buckinghamshire
  • Design
    • Frances Aronson
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Mark Beard
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • William Ivey Long
      Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
    • John Gromada, Machinal
      Sound design
  • Best New American Play
    • Wallace Shawn, The Fever


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >