Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1994 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Edward Albee
  • Special Citations
    • Ain Gordon, David Gordon and Valda Setterfield, The Family Business
    • Holly Hughes
    • Ricky Jay, Ricky Jay and His 52 Assistants
    • Michael John LaChiusa, First Lady Suite and Hello Again
    • John Moran and Bob McGrath
    • Tom Noonan, Wifey
    • Claudia Shear, Blown Sideways Through Life
    • STOMP
  • Playwriting
    • Eric Bogosian, Pounding Nails in the Floor With My Forehead
    • Howard Korder, The Lights
  • Performance
    • Carolee Carmello, Hello Again
    • Myra Carter, Three Tall Women
    • Gail Grate, The America Play
    • Danny Hoch, Some People
    • Judith Ivey, The Moonshot Tape
    • Peter Francis James, The Maid
    • Jefferson Mays, Orestes
    • Christopher McCann, The Lights
    • Tom Nelis, The Medium
    • Alice Playten, First Lady Suite
    • Michael Potts, The America Play
    • Robert Stanton, All in the Timing
  • Obie Grant
    • Changing Scenes
    • Here
  • Obie Committee
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman
    • Michael Feingold, Alisa Solomon, Voice Judges
    • Anne Bogart, Ming Cho Lee, Jan Stuart, Guest Judges
  • Direction
    • Andre Ernotte, Christina Alberta's Father
    • David Warren, Pterodactyls
  • Design
    • Kyle Chepulis
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Brian MacDevitt
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
  • Best Play
    • Anna Deavere Smith, Twilight: Los Angeles 1992


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >