Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2007 Award Winners

  • Voice Judges
    • Kirsten Childs
    • Anne Dennin
    • Michael Feingold
    • Ain Gordon
    • Jeremy McCarter
    • Adam Rapp
    • Alexis Soloski
  • Special Citations
    • Daniel Beaty
      writing and performance Emergence-SEE
    • Tim Crouch, An Oak Tree
    • Edward Hall & Propeller, Taming of the Shrew
    • The Living Theatre, ensemble and director Judith Malina, The Brig
      (Ensemble: Johnson Anthony, Gene Ardor, Kesh Baggan, Steven Scot Bono, Gary Brackett, Brent Bradley, Brad Burgess, John Kohan, Albert Lamont, Peter Lester, Jeff Nash, Josh Roberts, Bradford Rosenbloom, Jade Rothman, Isaac Scranton, Morteza Tavakoli, Evan True, Antwan Ward, Louis Williams; Steve Ben Israel, ensemble director)
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Rattlestick Theatre
  • Playwriting
    • Adam Bock, The Thugs
  • Performance
    • Betsy Aidem
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Donna Lynne Champlin, The Dark at the Top of the Stairs
    • Andre De Shields
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Ain Gordon, Stories Left to Tell
    • David Greenspan, Faust and Some Men
    • Nina Hellman, Trouble in Paradise
    • Ron Cephas Jones
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Nancy Opel, My Deah
    • Roslyn Ruff, Seven Guitars
    • James Saito, Durango
    • Michael Stuhlbarg, The Voysey Inheritance
    • Nilaja Sun, No Child
    • Harris Yulin, Frank's Home
    • Ensemble, Tale of 2Cities
      (Winsome Brown, Michael Ray Escamilla, Tracey A. Leigh, Leo Marks, Diane Rodriguez, Ed Vassallo, Heather Woodbury)
  • Obie Grant
    • Peculiar Works Project
    • The Play Company
    • Synapse Productions
    • Transport Group
    • Young Jean Lee ($1,000)
      Emerging Playwright Grants
  • Obie Committee
    • Elizabeth Lawler
  • Music
    • Michael Friedman
      Sustained Excellence in Music
    • Bill T. Jones, Spring Awakening
    • Lin-Manuel Miranda, In the Heights
      music and lyrics
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Alvin Epstein
  • Direction
    • Lou Bellamy, Two Trains Running
    • Anne Kauffman
    • Matthew Maguire, Abandon
    • Eirik Stubo, The Wild Duck
    • Chay Yew, Durango
  • Design
    • Beowulf Boritt
      Sustained Excellence in Set Design
    • Robert Kaplowitz
      Sustained Excellence in Sound Design
    • Rae Smith, Oliver Twist
      Set and Costume Design


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >