Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

Please visit for full details about The Village Voice's 54th annual 2009 Obie Awards Ceremony with Creative Block.

Click here to watch the first ever webcast
of The Obies award by iClips Network

The Village Voice 53rd annual Obie awards.

Presenters include Jonathan Groff, Neil Patrick Harris, Priscilla Lopez, S. Epatha Merkerson, Marisa Tomei, Julie White, and Bradley Whitford, among others.

Click here for more information.

2008 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Nature Theater of Oklahoma, No Dice
    • David Greenspan, The Argument
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Cherry Lane Theatre Mentor Project
  • Playwriting
    • Horton Foote, Dividing The Estate
    • David Henry Hwang, Yellow Face
  • Performance
    • LisaGay Hamilton, The Ohio State Murders
    • Kate Mulgrew, Iphigenia 2.0
    • Francis Jue, Yellow Face
    • Rebecca Wisocky, Amazons and Their Men
    • Joel Hatch, Adding Machine
    • Heidi Schreck, Drum Of The Waves Of Horikawa
    • Veanne Cox, Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Sean McNall
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Ensemble, Passing Strange
      (De'Adre Aziza, Daniel Breaker, Eisa Davis, Colman Domingo, Chad Goodridge, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Stew)
  • Obie Grant
    • Keen Company
    • Theater of a Two-Headed Calf
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Adrienne Kennedy
  • Direction
    • Krzysztof Warlikowski, Krum
    • David Cromer, Adding Machine
  • Design
    • Takeshi Kata, Set - Keith Parham, Lighting Design, Adding Machine
    • Peter Ksander, Scenic Design, Untitled Mars (This Title May Change)
    • Ben Katchor, Drawings; John Findlay & Jeff Sugg, Set & Projection, The Slug Bearers Of Kayrol Island
    • Jane Greenwood
      Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
    • David Zinn
      Sustained Excellence of Costume and Set Design
  • Best New Theater Piece
    • Stew, Heidi Rodewald, Annie Dorsen, Passing Strange


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >