Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

Please visit for winners and full details about The Village Voice's 54th annual 2009 Obie Awards Ceremony with Creative Block.

The Village Voice 54th annual Obie awards hosted by Daniel Breaker and Martha Plimpton.

Presenters included Anne Hathaway, Gavin Creel, Brian D�Arcy James, Marc Kudisch, Kate Mulgrew, Karen Olivo, John Shea, among others.

Click here for more information.

2009 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Sarah Benson (director) and Louisa Thompson (set designer), BLASTED
      (Soho Rep)
    • David Esbjornson (director) and Christian Camargo (actor), HAMLET
      (Theatre for a New Audience)
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • HERE Arts Center
      (includes a cash prize of $2,000)
  • Performance
    • Francois Battiste, THE GOOD NEGRO
      (Public Theater)
    • Quincy Tyler Bernstine, RUINED
      (Manhattan Theatre Club)
    • Kevin T. Carroll
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Saidah Arrika Ekulona, RUINED
      (Manhattan Theatre Club)
    • Jonathan Groff
      PRAYER FOR MY ENEMY (Playwrights Horizons) and THE SINGING FOREST (Public Theater)
    • Birgit Huppuch, TELEPHONE
      (Foundry Theatre)
    • Russell Gebert Jones, RUINED
      (Manhattan Theatre Club)
    • Aaron Monaghan, THE CRIPPLE OF INISHMAAN
      (Atlantic Theater Co.)
    • Sahr Ngaujah, FELA!
      (37 Arts)
    • Lorenzo Pisoni, HUMOR ABUSE
      (Manhattan Theatre Club)
      (Pig Iron Theatre Company)
    • John Douglas Thompson, OTHELLO
      (Theatre for a New Audience)
  • Obie Grant
    • The Chocolate Factory
    • The Classical Theatre of Harlem
    • Lark Play Development Center
      ($10,000 divided equally among three theaters)
  • Music And Lyrics
    • Stephen Sondheim, ROAD SHOW
      (Public Theater)
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Earle Hyman
  • Directing
    • David Cromer, OUR TOWN
      (Barrow Street Theatre)
    • Katie Mitchell, THE WAVES
      (National Theatre of Great Britain / Lincoln Center Great Performances "New Visions" Series)
    • Ken Rus Schmoll, TELEPHONE
      (Foundry Theatre)
  • Design
    • Toni-Leslie James
      sustained excellence of costume design (with special reference to WIG OUT, Vineyard Theatre)
    • David Korins
      sustained excellence of set design (with special reference to WHY TORTURE IS WRONG, AND THE PEOPLE WHO LOVE THEM, Public Theater)
  • Best New American Play
    • Lynn Nottage, RUINED
      Manhattan Theatre Club (includes a cash prize of $1,000)


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >