Now Reading: Obies


Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

The Village Voice presented its 59th annual Obie Awards, celebrating achievement in the Off-Broadway and off-off Broadway theater, at a ceremony Monday, May 19 at Webster Hall in Greenwich Village.

The festivities were co-hosted by Tamara Tunie and Hamish Linklater. Among the presenters: Betsy Aidem, Harvey Fierstein, Lena Hall, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Andy Karl, David Bar Katz, Cristin Milioti, Kelli O'Hara, Lily Rabe and Stephen Trask.

Highlights of the 2014 Obies included the Lifetime Achievement Award, which Kelli O'Hara presented to Estelle Parsons, 86, for her extraordinary, multifaceted life in the theater. In a statement read aloud by Andy Karl, star of the Broadway production of Rocky, Al Pacino apologized for not being able to attend and hailed Parsons as "a guiding light, a force, and a genius actor." Pacino was returning a favor: Parsons presented him with an Obie back in 1968.

At the other end of the temporal spectrum, Sydney Lucas, 10, became the youngest recipient in Obies history when she won an award for her performance in the Off-Broadway musical Fun Home. The show was also honored in the Musical Theater category, with an Obie for author Lisa Kron, composer Jeanine Tesori and director Sam Gold.

During the ceremony, Lucas performed a song from Fun Home, "Ring of Keys."

Playwright Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, who received an Obie for Best New American Play, is featured on the cover of the May 21 Village Voice. The Voice's new lead theater critic, Tom Sellar, profiles Jacobs-Jenkins in a feature story for the Obies issue. Also inside: an essay by Obies chairman Michael Feingold, and a profile of Lifetime Achievement Award winner Estelle Parsons, written by Dennis Brown.

2014 Award Winners

  • Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Marylouise Burke
  • Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Justin Townsend
  • Special Citation, Projections
    • Hannah Wasileski, The World Is Round
  • Special Citation, Music
    • Heather Christian, The World Is Round
  • Special Citation, Lighting
    • Jiyoun Chang, The World Is Round
  • Special Citation
    • Mallory Catlett, This Was The End
    • Rattlestick Playwrights Theater and Lucy Thurber, The Hill Town Plays
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Abrons Arts Center
  • Projections, Design
    • Ben Rubin, Arguendo
  • Playwrighting
    • Will Eno, The Open House
  • Performance
    • Larry Pine, A Public Reading of an Unproduced Screenplay About the Death of Walt Disney
    • Mia Katigbak, Awake and Sing
    • Sydney Lucas, Fun Home
    • John Ellison Conlee, The (Curious Case of the) Watson Intelligence
    • K. Todd Freeman, Fetch Clay, Make Man
    • John Earl Jelks, Sunset Baby
    • Johanna Day, Appropriate
  • Obie Grants
    • 600 Highwaymen
  • Obie Grant
    • 48 Hours in Harlem
  • Lighting Design, Design/Music
    • Eric Southern, The Correspondent
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Estelle Parsons
  • Fight Direction, Design/Music
    • Emmanuel Brown, Kung Fu
  • Director, Musical Theater
    • Sam Gold, Fun Home
  • Direction
    • James MacDonald, Love and Information
    • Oliver Butler, The Open House
    • Liesl Tommy, Appropriate
  • Composer
    • Jeanine Tesori, Fun Home
  • Choreography, Design/Music
    • Sonya Tayeh, Kung Fu
  • Best New American Play (tie)
    • Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Appropriate
    • Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, An Octoroon
  • Author, Musical Theater
    • Lisa Kron, Fun Home
    • Chris Myers, An Octoroon


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >