The 2009 OBIES

Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

The 54th Annual Village Voice Obie* Awards

Presenters Include: Daniel Breaker, Martha Plimpton, Gavin Creel, Brian d'Arcy James, Anne Hathaway, Marc Kudisch, Kate Mulgrew, Karen Olivo, John Shea, and Nilaja Sun

This year the Village Voice introduces Creative Block & OBIES AFTER PARTY, a multidisciplinary event including burlesque, digital & performance art, dance and fiber arts. Michael Musto of the Village Voice has been named a host and spokesperson for Creative Block.

Live Webcast on


The Village Voice 54th annual Obie awards. Presenters include Daniel Breaker, Martha Plimpton, Gavin Creel, Brian d'Arcy James, Anne Hathaway, Marc Kudisch, Kate Mulgrew, Karen Olivo, John Shea, and Nilaja Sun among others.


Monday, May 18, 2009
Ceremony – 8:00pm


Webster Hall
125 East 11th Street


The Village Voice Obie Awards were created by Jerry Tallmer in 1955, soon after the first publication of the paper, to publicly acknowledge and encourage the growing Off-Broadway theater movement. Just as they are today, the Village Voice Obies were purposely structured with informal categories, to recognize persons and productions worthy of distinction in each theater season. The Obie Awards are an important part of the Voice’s long history of championing Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway.

Fifty-four years ago, The Village Voice put downtown theater on the map with in-depth coverage and support. The paper was a forum for heated artistic discussion and played a large role in generating excitement about the emerging theater movement.

The Obies have become a theatrical tradition, a meaningful way of acknowledging the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway. This list of actors, directors, writers, and designers whose careers were launched at the Obies is a Who’s Who of theater. The categories for the awards change almost annually, but the spirit remains the same. The Village Voice Obie Awards continue to salute a theatrical movement that’s as important, vibrant, and dynamic as it was in 1955.


The Obies are chaired by the Voice's chief theater critic Michael Feingold and his committee of judges including Voice critic Alexis Soloski; Eisa Davis; Eric Grode; Ty Jones; Moisés Kaufman; Chay Yew. Andy Propst serves as secretary to the committee.


This year, the Obie Awards ceremony will be seen via a live webcast through on


Macy’s, Harlequin, Andrew Christian, Crumpler Bags, Fragoli, Global Angel, Gothic Renaissance, Letourmentvert, Like Me, Mark Nelson, Metropcs, Paltalk, Sea Grape Wine Shop, Sierra Nevada, Virgin America, and Webster Hall


Read the special Village Voice Obie issue on stands May 20, 2009

For More Information Please Contact:

Gail Parenteau / Parenteau Guidance

Christina Pettit / The Village Voice

Founded by Dan Wolf, Ed Fancher, and Norman Mailer in October 1955, The Village Voice introduced free-form, high-spirited and passionate journalism into the public discourse. As the nation's first and largest alternative newsweekly, the Voice maintains the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it first embraced when it began publishing over fifty years ago. The recipient of three Pulitzer prizes, the National Press Foundation Award, and the George Polk Award, among others, the Voice has earned a reputation for its groundbreaking investigations of New York City politics, and as the premier expert on New York's art and cultural scene.

The Village Voice is also the creator of such celebrated events as the Obie Awards, Siren Music Festival, Emerging Artist Series, Choice Eats, as well as the most anticipated issues and guides of the year including the annual Pazz and Jop music poll, Best of NYC, and its Spring, Summer, and Fall Preview guides, the Voice is New York's most influential must-read alternative newspaper in print and online at where the site averages 2 million unique users each month.

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.