Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1957 Hosts

1957 Presenters

1957 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Paul Shyre,
      for bringing O'Casey to Off-Broadway; for his adaptations of "I Knock at the Door," "Pictures in the Hallway," and "USA"
  • Distinguished Performances (actresses)
    • Marguerite Lenery, House of Breath
    • Betty Miller, Exiles
    • Jutta Wolf, Exiles
  • Distinguished Performances (actors)
    • Thayer David, "Saint Joan," "Oscar Wilde"
    • Michael Kane, Exiles
    • Arthur Malet, "Volpone," "The Misanthrope," "The Apollo of Bellac"
  • Best New Play
    • Louis A. Lippa, A House Remembered
  • Best Foreign Play
    • No award given,
  • Best Director
    • Gene Frankel, Volpone
  • Best All--around Production
    • Daniel S. Brown and Burry Fredrick, Exiles
  • Best Actress
    • Colleen Dewhurst, "The Taming of the Shrew," "The Eagle Has Two Heads," "Camille"
  • Best Actor
    • William Smithers, The Sea Gull

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.