Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1958 Hosts

1958 Presenters

1958 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • The Phoenix Theatre,
    • The Theatre Club,
    • Lucille Lortel,
  • Sets
    • No award given,
  • Obie Committee
    • ,
      Joseph Anthony, George Freedley, Jerry Tallmer
  • Distinguished Performances (actresses)
    • Tammy Grimes, Clerambard
    • Grania O'Malley, Guests of the Nation
    • Nydia Westman, Endgame
  • Distinguished Performances (actors)
    • Leonardo Cimino, The Brothers Karamazov
    • Michael Higgins, The Crucible
    • J.D. (Jack) Cannon, Children of Darkness
      New York Shakespeare Festival
    • Robert Gerringer, Guests of the Nation
      New York Shakespeare Festival
  • Costumes
    • No award given,
  • Best Revival
    • Arthur Miller, Directed by Word Baker, The Crucible
  • Best Play (adaptation)
    • Boris Tumarin and Jack Sydow, The Brothers Karamazov
  • Best One--act Play
    • Neil McKenzie, Guests of the Nation
  • Best New Play
    • No award given,
  • Best Music
    • No award given,
  • Best Foreign Play
    • Samuel Beckett, Endgame
  • Best Director
    • Stuart Vaughan,
      New York Shakespeare Festival
  • Best Comedy
    • George Panetta, Comic Strip
  • Best American Play
    • No award given,
  • Best All--around Production
    • No award given,
  • Best Actress
    • Anne Meacham, Garden District
  • Best Actor
    • George C. Scott, "Richard III," "As You Like It," "Children of Darkness"

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.