Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1961 Hosts

1961 Presenters

1961 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Bernard Frechtman, The Blacks
      for his translation
  • Set Design
    • No award given,
  • Obie Committee
    • ,
      Harold Clurman, Tom Driver, Jerry Tallmer
  • Distinguished Plays
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Performances (actresses)
    • Joan Hackett, Call Me By My Rightful Name
    • Gerry Jedd, She Stoops to Conquer
    • Surya Kumari, The King of the Darn Chamber
  • Distinguished Performances (actors)
    • Godfrey M. Cambridge, The Blacks
    • James Coco, The Moon in the Yellow River
    • Lester Rawlins, Hedda Gabler
  • Distinguished Direction
    • No award given,
  • Costumes
    • No award given,
  • Best Overall Production
    • David Ross, Hedda Gabler
  • Best Off--off--broadway Production
    • Theodore Flicker, The Premise
      produced and directed by Theodore Flicker
  • Best New Play
    • Jean Genet, The Blacks
  • Best Music
    • Teiji Ito, "In the Jungle of Cities," "Three Modern Japanese Plays," "King Ubu"
  • Best Foreign Play
    • No award given,
  • Best Director
    • Gerald A. Freedman, The Taming of the Shrew
  • Best Actress
    • Anne Meacham, Hedda Gabler
  • Best Actor
    • Khigh Dhiegh, In the Jungle of Cities

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.