Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1962 Hosts

1962 Presenters

1962 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Ellis Rabb,
      for conceiving and maintaining the Association of Producing Artists (APA)
    • , The Hostage
      for using the best possibilities of Off Broadway to convey the essence of Brendan Behan
  • Obie Committee
    • ,
      Edward Albee, Walter Kerr, Jerry Tallmer
  • Music
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Plays
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Performances (actresses)
    • Sudie Bond, Theatre of the Absurd
    • Vinnette Carroll, Moon on a Rainbow Shawl
    • Rosemary Harris, APA Repertory
    • Ruth White, Happy Days
  • Distinguished Performances (actors)
    • Clayton Corzatte, APA Repertory
    • Geoff Garland, The Hostage
    • Gerald O'Loughlin, Who'll Save the Plowboy?
    • Paul Roebling, This Side of Paradise
  • Distinguished Direction
    • No award given,
  • Costumes
    • No award given,
  • Best Set
    • Norris Houghton, Who'll Save the Plowboy?
  • Best Musical
    • C. Jackson, James Hatch and Jerome Eskow, Fly Blackbird
  • Best Foreign Play
    • Samuel Beckett, Happy Days
      Walter Kerr abstaining
  • Best Director
    • No award given,
  • Best American Play
    • Frank D. Gilroy, Who'll Save the Plowboy?
  • Best Actress
    • Barbara Harris, Oh, Dad, Poor Dad, Mamma's Hung You in the Closet and I'm Feelin' So Sad
  • Best Actor
    • James Earl Jones, "Clandestine on the Morning Line," "The Apple," "Moon on a Rainbow Shawl"
      New York Shakespeare Festival

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.