Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1963 Hosts

1963 Presenters

1963 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • The Second City,
    • Jean Erdman, The Coach with the Six Insides
  • Set Design
    • No award given,
  • Obie Committee
    • ,
      John Gassner, Norman Nadel, Michael Smith
  • Music
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Plays
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Performances
    • Jacqueline Brookes, Six Characters in Search of An Author
    • Michael O'Sullivan, Six Characters in Search of An Author
    • Joseph Chaikin, Man is Man
    • James Patterson, `The Collection" in The Pinter plays
    • Olympia Dukakis, A Man's a Man
    • Madeleine Sherwood, Hey You, Light Man!
    • Anne Jackson, "The Typists" and "The Tiger"
    • Eli Wallach, "The Typists" and "The Tiger"
  • Distinguished Direction
    • No award given,
  • Costumes
    • No award given,
  • Best Production (play)
    • Luigi Pirandello, Six Characters in Search of An Author
      directed by William Ball
  • Best Production (musical)
    • , The Boys from Syracuse
  • Best Foreign Play
    • No award given,
  • Best Director
    • Alan Schneider, The Pinter Plays
  • Best American Play
    • No award given,
  • Best Actress
    • Colleen Dewhurst, Desire Under the Elms
  • Best Actor
    • George C. Scott, Desire Under the Elms

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.