Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1966 Hosts

1966 Presenters

1966 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Joseph H. Dunn, The Automobile Graveyard
      which brilliantly combines the arts of design, lighting, and staging for audience involvement
    • H.M. Koutoukas,
      for the style and energy of his assaults on the theatre in both playwrighting and production
    • Peter Schumann,
      for his Bread and Puppet Theatre, which embodies a courageous and rigorous vision and practice of theatre engaged with its time
    • Theatre for Ideas,
      for encouraging exploration in dramatic literature and music
    • Theater in the Street,
      for upholding the tradition of street theatre and reaching out to new English- and Spanish-speaking audiences
  • Set Design
    • Lindsey Decker, Red Cross
    • Ed Wittstein, Serjeant Musgrave's Dance
  • Obie Committee
    • ,
      Albert Bermel, Maria Irene Fornes, Robert Pasolli, Isaiah Shaffer, Michael Smith
  • Distinguished Plays
    • Emanuel Peluso, Good Day
    • Sam Shepard, "Chicago," "Icarus's Mother," and "Red Cross"
  • Distinguished Performances
    • Clarice Blackburn, The Exhaustion of Our Son's Love
    • Mari-Claire Charba, Birdbath
    • Gloria Foster, Medea
    • Sharon Gans, Soon Jack November
    • Frank Langella, "Good Day" and "The White Devil"
    • Michael Lipton, The Trial
    • Kevin O'Connor, Chicago
    • Jess Osuna, "Bugs" and "Veronica"
    • Florence Tarlow, "Istanbul," "Red Cross," and "A Beautiful Day"
    • Douglas Turner Ward, Days of Absence
  • Best Foreign Play
    • No award given,
  • Best American Play
    • Ronald Ribman, The Journey of the Fifth Horse
  • Best Actress
    • Jane White, "Coriolanus" and "Love's Labour's Lost"
  • Best Actor
    • Dustin Hoffman, The Exhaustion of Our Son's Love

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.