Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1972 Hosts

1972 Presenters

1972 Award Winners

  • Visual Effects
    • Video Free America, Kaddish
  • Special Citations
    • Meredith Monk, "Vessel"
    • Charles Stanley,
      Actor, Dancer, Choreographer, Costume Designer
  • Special Citation
    • Theatre of Latin America, A Latin American Fair of Opinion
  • Set Design
    • No award given,
  • Obie Committee
    • Dick Brukenfeld, Michael Feingold, John Lahr, Julius Novick, Arthur Sainer, Michael Smith, and Martin Washburn,
  • Music And Lyrics
    • Micki Grant, Don't Bother Me, I Can't Cope
  • Distinguished Plays
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Performances
    • Salome Bey, Love Me, Love My Children
    • Maurice Blanc, The Celebrations: Joos/Guns/Movies/The Abyss
    • Alex Bradford, Don't Bother Me, I Can't Cope
    • Marilyn Chris, Kaddish
    • Ron Faber, And They Put Handcuffs on Flowers
    • Jeanne Hepple, The Reliquary of Mr. and Mrs. Potterfield
    • Danny Sewell, The Homecoming
    • Marilyn Soko, The Beggar's Opera
    • Kathleen Widdoes, The Beggar's Opera
    • Elizabeth Wilson, Sticks and Bones
    • Ed Zang, The Reliquary of Mr. and Mrs. Potterfield
  • Distinguished Direction
    • Wilford Leach and John Braswell, The Only Jealousy of Emer
    • Mel Shapiro, Two Gentlemen of Verona
    • Michael Smith, Country Music
    • Tom Sydorick, 20th Century Tar
  • Composer
    • Liz Swados, Medea
  • Best Theatre Piece
    • The Open Theatre, "The Mutation Show"
  • Best Foreign Play
    • No award given,
  • Best American Play
    • No award given,

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.