Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1973 Hosts

1973 Presenters

1973 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Richard Foreman (Ontological-Hysteric Theatre),
    • The San Francisco Mime Troupe, "The Dragon Lady's Revenge"
    • City Center Acting Company,
    • Workshop of the Player's Art (WPA),
  • Set Design
    • No award given,
  • Obie Committee
    • Mel Gussow, Marilyn Stasio, and Michael Smith,
  • Music
    • No award given,
  • Distinguished Plays
    • Sam Shepard, The Tooth of Crime
    • Ronald Tavel, Bigfoot
    • J.E. Gaines, What if it Had Turned Up Heads?
  • Distinguished Performances
    • Hume Cronyn, Krapp's Last Tape
    • Mari Gorman, The Hot l Baltimore
    • James Hilbrandt, A Boy Named Dog
    • Stacy Keach, Hamlet
    • Christopher Lloyd, Kaspar
    • Charles Ludlam, "Corn" and "Camille"
    • Lola Pashalinski, Corn
    • Alice Playten, Lemmings
    • Roxie Roker, The River Niger
    • Jessica Tandy, Not I
    • Douglas Turner Ward, The River Niger
    • Sam Waterston, Much Ado About Nothing
  • Distinguished Direction
    • Jack Gelber, The Kid
    • William E. Lathan, What if it Had Turned Up Heads?
    • Marshall W. Mason, The Hot l Baltimore
  • Costumes
    • No award given,
  • Best Foreign Play
    • Samuel Beckett, Not I
    • Peter Handke, Kaspar
  • Best American Play
    • Lanford Wilson, The Hot l Baltimore
    • Joseph A. Walker, The River Niger

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.