Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1975 Hosts

1975 Presenters

1975 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Andrei Serban, Trilogy
    • The Royal Shakespeare Company, Summerfolk
    • Charles Ludlam, Professor Bedlam's Punch and Judy Show
    • The Henry Street Settlement,
    • Charles Pierce,
    • Mabou Mines,
  • Special 20--year Obies
    • Judith Malina and Julian Beck,
    • Ted Mann and the Circle in the Square,
    • Joseph Papp,
    • Ellen Stewart, "The Fantasticks"
  • Playwriting
    • Ed Bullins, The Taking of Miss Janie
    • Lanford Wilson, The Mound Builders
    • Wallace Shawn, Our Late Night
    • Sam Shepard, Action
  • Performance
    • Reyno, The First Breeze of Summer
    • Moses Gunn, The First Breeze of Summer
    • Dick Latessa, Philemon
    • Kevin McCarthy, Harry Outside
    • Stephen D. Newman, Polly
    • Christopher Walken, Kid Champion
    • Ian Trigger, The True History of Squire Jonathan
    • Cara Duff-MacCormick, Craig's Wife
    • Priscilla Smith, Trilogy
    • Tanya Berezin, The Mound Builders
    • Tovah Feldshuh, Yentl the Yeshiva Boy
  • Obie Grant
    • No award given,
  • Obie Committee:
    • Clive Barnes, Mel Gussow, Jack Kroll, Michael Feingold, Julius Novick,
  • Direction
    • Lawrence Konrfeld, Listen to Me
    • Marshall W. Mason, "Battle of Angels," "The Mound Builders"
    • Gilbert Moses, The Talking of Miss Janie
  • Design
    • Robert U. Taylor, Polly
      distinguished set design
    • John Lee Beatty, Down By River... Battle of Angels,The Mound Builders
      distinguished set design
  • Best New American Play
    • Leslie Lee, The First Breeze of Summer

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.