Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1976 Hosts

1976 Presenters

1976 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • The Creators, of "A Chorus Line"
    • Edward Bond, Bingo
      in the Yale Repertory Theatre production
    • Meredith Monk, Quarry
    • Morton Lichter and Gordon Rogoff, Old Timers' Sexual Symphony
    • Ralph Lee, The Halloween Parade
    • `Chile! Chile!",
    • Santo Loquasto, "Comedy of Errors"
      sets and costumes
    • Philip Glass, Mabou Mines
      music for
    • Donald Brooks, "The Tempest
      set design for
    • Neil Flanagan,
      distinguished contribution to Off-Off-Broadway theatre
  • Performance
    • Priscilla Smith, Good Woman of Setzuan
    • David Warrilow, The Lost Ones
    • Sammy Williams, A Chorus Line
    • Joyce Aaron, Academics
    • Roberts Blossom, Ice Age
    • Robert Christian, Blood Brothers
    • Crystal Field, Day Old Bread
    • June Gable, Comedy of Errors
    • Mike Kellin, American Buffalo
    • Tony Lo Bianco, Yanks 3 Detroit 0 Top of the Seventh
    • Priscilla Lopez, A Chorus Line
    • Kate Manheim, Rhoda in Potatoland
    • T. Miratti, he Shortchanged Review
    • Pamela Payton-Wright, Jesse and the Bandit Queen
  • Obie Committee
    • Michael Feingold, Francoise Kourilsky, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Arthur Sainer, Carll Tucker, Ross Wetzsteon,
  • Direction
    • JoAnne Akalaitis, "Cascando'
    • Marshall Mason, "Knock Knock" and "Serenading Louie"
  • Design
    • See Citations,
  • Best Theatre Piece
    • Richard Foreman, Rhoda in Potatoland
  • Best New American Play
    • David Mamet, "American Buffalo" and "Sexual Perversity in Chicago"

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.