Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1977 Hosts

1977 Presenters

1977 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Barbara Garson, The Dinosaur Door
    • Manhattan Theatre Club,
      for Sustained Excellence
    • New York Street Theatre Caravan,
      for Sustained Excellence
    • Theatre for the New City,
      for Sustained Excellence
    • Philip Glass, for the music for Einstein on the Beach
    • Ping Chong, Humboldt's Current
    • The creators of "Nightclub Cantata",
    • Charles Ludlam, for the design of Der Ring Gott Farblonjet
    • Carole Oditz, Douglas Schmidt, and Burl Hash, "Crazy Locomotive"
      costumes, set , and lighting
    • Henry Millman and Edward M. Greenberg, "Domino Courts"
      set and lighting
  • Playwriting
    • David Berry, G.R. Point
    • Maria Irene Fornes, Fefu and Her Friends
    • William Hauptmann, Domino Courts
    • Albert Innaurato, "Gemini" and "The Transfiguration of Benno Blimpie"
    • David Rudkin, Ashes
  • Performance
    • Danny Aiello, Gemini
    • Martin Balsam, Cold Storage
    • Lucinda Childs, Einstein on the Beach
    • James Coco, The Transfiguration of Benno Blimpie
    • Anne DiSalvo, Gemini
    • John Heard, G.R. Point
    • Jo Henderson, Ladyhouse Blues
    • William Hurt, My Life
    • Joseph Maher, Savages
    • Roberta Maxwell, Ashes
    • Brian Murray, Ashes
    • Lola Pashalinski, Der Ring Gott Farblonjet
    • Marian Seldes, Isadora Duncan Sleeps with the Russian Navy
    • Margaret Wright, A Manoir
  • Obie Committee
    • Michael Feingold, Dan Isaac, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Arthur Sainer, Marilyn Stasio, Ross Wetzsteon,
  • Distinguished Productions
    • Playwright Eve Merriam, director Tommy Tune, costume designer Kate Carmel, and the entire cast of "The Club",
    • Poet Ntozake SHange, director Oz Scott, and the entire cast of "For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf",
    • Mabou Mines, Dressed Like an Egg
  • Direction
    • Melvin Bernhardt, Children
    • Gordon Davidson, Savages
  • Design
    • See CITATIONS,
  • Best New American Play
    • Sam Shepard, Curse of the Starving Class

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.