Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1981 Hosts

1981 Presenters

1981 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Negro Ensemble Company,
  • Special Citations
    • JoAnne Akalaitis and Mabou Mines, Dead End Kids
    • Joseph Chaikin and the Winter Project, Tourists and Refuggees
    • Bill Irwin,
      for his inspired clowning
    • Bruce Myers, A Dybbuk for Two People
    • Repertorio Espanol,
  • Playwriting
    • Charles Fuller, Zooman and the Sign
    • Amlin Gray, How I Got That Story
    • Len Jenkin, Limbo Tales (script and direction)
  • Performance
    • Giancarlo Esposito, Zooman and the Sign
    • Bob Gunton, How I Got That Story
    • Mary Beth Hurt, Crimes of the Heart
    • Kevin Kline, The Pirates of Penzance
    • John Lone, "FOB" and "The Dance and the Railroad"
    • Mary McDonnell, Still Life
    • Timothy Near, Still Life
    • William Sadler, Limbo Tales
    • Michele Shay, Meetings
    • John Spencer, Still Life
    • Meryl Streep, Alice in Concert
    • Christopher Walken, The Sea Gulf
  • Obie Committee
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Michael Feingold, Terry Curtis Fox, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Ross Wetzsteon, James Leverett, Edith Oliver,
  • Direction
    • Melvin Bernhardt, Crimes of the Heart
    • Wilford Leach, The Pirates of Penzance
    • Toby Robertson, Pericles
  • Design
    • Bloolips, "Lust in Space"
      for costume design
    • Manuel L**Dutgenhorst and Douglas Ball, Request Concert
    • Jun Maeda,
      Sustained Excellence in Set Design
    • Dennis Parichy,
      Sustained Excellence in Lighting Design
  • Best Production
    • Emily Mann, Still Life
  • Best New American Play
    • David Henry Hwang, FOB

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.

Now Trending