Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1982 Hosts

1982 Presenters

1982 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Maria Irene Fornes,
  • Special Citations
    • La Mama, 20th anniversary celebration
    • Harvey Fierstein, "Torch Song Trilogy,"
    • Theatre Communications Group,
  • Playwriting
    • Robert Auletta, "Stops" and "Virgins,"
    • Caryl Churchill, "Cloud 9,"
  • Performance
    • Kevin Bacon, "Forty Deuce" and "Poor Little Lambs"
    • James Barbosa, Soon Jack November
    • Ray Dooley, Peer Gynt
    • Christine Estabrook, Pastorale
    • Michael Gross, No End of Blame
    • E. Katherine Kerr, Cloud 9
    • Kenneth McMillan, Weekends Like Other People
    • Kevin O'Connor, "Chucky's Hunch," "Birdbath," and "Crossing the Crab Nebula"
    • Carole Shelley, Twelve Dreams
    • Josef Sommer, Lydie Breeze
    • Irene Worth, The Chalk Garden
  • Obie Committee
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Michael Feingold, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Voice Judges,
    • Gus Edwards, Richard Gilman, Guest Judges,
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman,
    • Robert Massa, Assistant to the committee,
  • Distinguished Ensemble Performance
    • Lisa Banes, Brenda Currin, Elizabeth McGovern and Beverly May, May My Sister in This House
    • Adolph Caesar, Larry Riley, and Denzel Washington, `A Soldier's Play"
  • Direction
    • Tommy Tune, Cloud 9
  • Design
    • Jim Clayburgh,
      Sustained Excellence in Set Design
    • Arden Fingerhut,
      Sustained Excellence in Lighting Design
  • Best Theater Piece
    • Tadeusz Kantor, "Wielopole, Wielopole"
  • Best New American Play (tie)
    • tie), Metamorphosis in Miniature
    • , Mr. Dead and Mrs. Free

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.