Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1983 Hosts

1983 Presenters

1983 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Lanford Wilson, Marshall Mason, and the Circle Repertory Company,
  • Special Citations
    • The Big Apple Circus,
    • Ethyl Eichelberger, Lucrezia Borgia
    • Michael Moschen, Fred Garbo, Bob Berky, `Foolsfire"
    • The Zagreb theater Company, The Liberation of Skopje
    • Dramatists Play Service,
      for its commitment to new work
    • Performing Arts Journal publications,
    • Theatre Development Fund,
      for its Off-Off-Broadway voucher program
    • The musical performance of Poppie Nongena,
    • The musical production of The Mother of Us All,
  • Playwriting
    • Caryl Churchill, "Top Girls"
    • Tina Howe,
      Distinguished Playwriting
    • Harry Kondoleon,
      Most Promising Young Playwright
    • David Mamet, Edmond
      (Howe, Kondoleon, and Mamet share the $1000 prize for best new American play.)
  • Performance
    • Ernest Abuba, Yellow Fever
    • Christine Baranski, A Midsummer Night's Dream
    • Glenn Close, The Singular Life of Albert Nobbs
    • Jeff Daniels, Johnny Got His Gun
    • Ruth Maleczech, Hadd
    • John Malkovich, True West
    • Donald Moffat, Painting Churches
    • Ray Wise, the Tooth of Crime
  • Obie Committee
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Michael Feingold, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Voice Judges,
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman,
    • Robert Massa, Secretary,
    • Maria Irene Fornes and John Guare, Guest Judges,
  • Ensemble Performance
    • Director Kenneth Frankel and the Cast of "Quartermaine's Terms",
    • Director Max Stafford Clark and the Royal Court cast of "Top Girls",
    • The New York Shakespeare Festival cast of "Top Girls',
  • Direction
    • Gregory Mosher, Edmond
    • Gary Sinise, True West
  • Design
    • Heidi Landesman, "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and "Painting Churches"
  • Best New American Play:

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.