Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1985 Hosts

1985 Presenters

1985 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Meredith Monk,
  • Special Citations
    • The Asia Society,
    • Penn and Teller,
    • Julie Taymor,
    • Spalding Gray, Swimming to Cambodia
    • The Roy Hart Theater for Pagliacci, "An Evening with Ekkard Schall"
  • Playwriting
    • Christopher Durang, The Marriage of Bette and Boo
    • Rosalyn Drexler, Transients Welcome
    • William M. Hoffman, As Is
  • Performance
    • Dennis Boutsikaris, The Nest of the Woodgrouse
    • Frances Foster,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Jonathan Hadary, As Is
    • Anthony Heald, Henry V, The Foreigner and Digby
    • Laurie Metcalf, Balm in Gilead
    • John Turturro, Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
    • Ron Vawter,
      Sustained Excellence in Performance
  • Obie Grant
    • Intar,
    • The Production Company,
    • The Richard Allen Center,
    • Spiderwoman Theatre,
    • The Split Britches Company,
  • Obie Committee
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Michael Feingold, Robert Massa, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Voice Judges,
    • Woodie King, Margot Lewitin, Guest Judges,
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman,
  • Music
    • Peter Gordon, Otello
    • Max Roach, Shepardsets
  • Ensemble Performance
    • Charles Ludlam and Everett Quinton, The Mystery of Irma Vep
    • The cast of The Marriage of Bette and Boo,
  • Direction
    • John Malkovich, Balm in Gilead
    • Barbara Vann, Bound to Rise
    • Jerry Zaks, "The Foreigner" and "The Marriage of Bette and Boo"
  • Design
    • Judy Dearing,
      for Costume Design
    • Victor En Yu Tan,
      for Lighting Design
    • Loren Sherman,
      for Set Design
  • Best New American Play
    • Maria Irene Fornes, The Conduct of Life

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.