Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1987 Hosts

1987 Presenters

1987 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Charles Ludlam and the Ridiculous Theatrical Company,
  • Special Citations
    • Judith Malina, The Living Theatre Retrospectacle
    • The Woza Afrika Foundation,
    • Dario Fo and Franca Rame,
    • The Non-Traditional Casting Project,
    • The La Mama Great Jones Repertory Company, "Fragments of a Greek Trilogy"
      for the revival of this play
  • Performance
    • Morgan Freeman, Driving Miss Daisy
    • Dana Ivey, Driving Miss Daisy
    • John Kelly, Pass the Blutwurst, Bitte (The Egon Schiele St)
    • Laura Hicks, On the Verge
    • Robin Bartlett, The Early Girl
    • Rob Besserer, The Hunger Artist
    • Anthony Holland, The Hunger Artist
    • Clarice Taylor, Moms
    • Bill Raymond, Cold Harbor
    • Gcina Mhlophe, Born in the RSA
    • Philip Bosco,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Black-eyed Susan,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Obie Grant
    • The Irish Arts Center,
    • Brooklyn Arts and Cultural Association (BACA),
    • The New Theatre of Brooklyn,
  • Obie Committee
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Robert Massa, Gordon Rogoff, Michael Feingold, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Voice Judges,
    • Billie Allen, Norris Houghton, Guest Judges,
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman,
  • Direction
    • Garland Wright, On The Verge
  • Design
    • James F. Ingalls,
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Andrew Jackness,
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Robert Israel, The Hunger Artist
      Set and Costume Design
    • Paul Gallo, The Hunger Artist
      Lighting Design
  • Best New American Play
    • Richard Foreman, "The Cure" and "Film Is Evil, Radio Is Good"

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.