Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1989 Hosts

1989 Presenters

1989 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Irene Worth,
  • Special Citations
    • Leo Bassi, Nero's Last Folly
    • Dance Theater Workshop,
    • The Dramatists Guild, for the Young Playwrights Festival
    • Janie Geiser, Stories From Here
    • Rachel Rosenthal, Rachel's Brain
    • Tamamatsu Yoshida, The Warrior Ant
    • Paul Zaloom, The House of Horror
  • Playwriting Workshop
    • GRANT Intar Hispanic Playwrights-in-Residence Laboratory,
    • The Frank Silva Workshop,
  • Performance
    • Mark Blum, Gus and Al
    • Niall Buggy, Aristocrats
    • William Converse-Roberts, Love's Labor's Lost
    • Fyvush Finkel, Cafe Crown
    • Gloria Foster, The Forbidden City
    • Paul Hecht, Enrico IV
    • Nancy Marchand, The Cocktail Hour
    • Tim McDonnell, Diary of a Madman
    • Will Patton, What Did He See?
    • Lonny Price, The Immigrant
    • Everett Quinton, A Tale of Two Cities
    • Rocco Sisto, The Winter's Tale
    • Kathy Najimy and Mo Gaffney, The Kathy and Mo Show
  • Obie Grant
    • Cucaracha Warehouse Theater,
    • The Living Theater,
  • Obie Committee
    • Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman,
    • Eileen Blumenthal, Michael Feingold, Robert Massa, Erika Munk, Julius Novick, Gordon Rogoff,
    • Martha Coigney, Margo Jefferson, Guest Judges,
  • Direction
    • Ingmar Bergman, Hamlet
    • Peter Stein, Falstaff
    • Rene Buch,
      Sustained Excellence of Direction
  • Design
    • Donald Eastman,
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Gabriel Berry,
      Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
    • Susan Young,
      Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
  • Best New American Play
    • No award given,

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.