Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1993 Hosts

1993 Presenters

1993 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • JoAnne Akalaitis,
  • Special Citations
    • Cirque Du Soleil,
    • Betty Corwin,
      New York Public Library Archives
    • Ensemble Studio Theatre, One-Act Play Marathon
    • The International Festival of Puppet Theater,
    • Ariane Mnouchkine, Les Atrides
    • Lincoln Center Serious Fun!,
  • Playwriting
    • Harry Kondoleon, The Houseguests
    • Larry Kramer, The Destiny of Me
    • Jose Rivera, Marisol
    • Paul Rudnick, Jeffrey
  • Performance
    • Jane Alexander, The Sisters Rosensweig
    • Miriam Colon,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Frances Conroy, The Last Yankee
    • David Drake, The Night Larry Kramer Kissed Me
    • Giancarlo Esposito, Distant Fires
    • Geoffrey C. Ewing, Ali
    • Hallie Foote, The Roads to Home
    • Edward Hibbert, Jeffrey
    • Bill Irwin, Texts for Nothing
    • John Cameron Mitchell, The Destiny of Me
    • Ellen Parker,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Linda Stephens, Wings
  • Obie Grant
    • Nuyorican Poets Cafe,
    • Pearl Theater,
  • Obie Committee
    • ,
      Ross Wetzsteon, Chairman
    • ,
      Michael Feingold, Alisa Solomon, Voice Judges
    • ,
      Mary Alice, Jeremy Gerard, Guest Judges
  • Direction
    • Christopher Ashley, Jeffrey
    • Michael Maggio, Wings
    • Frederick Zollo, Aven 'U Boys
  • Design
    • Loy Arcenas,
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Howard Thies,
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
  • Best New American Play
    • No award given,

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.