Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1997 Hosts

1997 Presenters

1997 Award Winners

  • Voice Judges
    • Michael Feingold, Alisa Solomon,
  • Sustained Achievement
    • Woodie King Jr.,
  • Special Citations
    • Joanne Camp,
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Arthur French,
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Roger Guenveur Smith & Mark Anthony Thompson, A Huey P. Newton Story
    • Howard Crabtree & creators of When Pigs Fly,
    • James Hatch & Camille Billops,
    • Dona Ann McAdams,
    • Tap Dogs,
    • Jeanine Tesori,
      music for Violet
  • Playwriting
    • Eve Ensler, The Vagina Monologues
    • David Henry Hwang, Golden Child
    • Paula Vogel, How I Learned to Drive
    • Lanford Wilson, Sympathetic Magic
  • Performance
    • Andre Braugher, Henry V
    • Tsai Chin, Golden Child
    • Jennifer Dundas, Good as New
    • David Greenspan, The Boys in the Band
    • Karen Kandel, Peter and Wendy
    • Albert Macklin, June Moon
    • David Morse, How I Learned to Drive
    • Mary-Louise Parker, How I Learned to Drive
    • Sharon Shruggs, The Trojan Woman
    • Ray Anthony Thomas, Volunteer Man
    • Ching Valdes-Aran, Flipzoids
  • Obie Grant
    • St.Paul's Community Baptist Church Drama Ministry,
    • Great Small Works,
  • Guest Judges
    • Karen Kandel, Craig Lukas,Robert Marx, Eugene Nesmith,
  • Direction
    • Mark Brokaw, How I Learned to Drive
  • Design
    • Derek McLane,
      sustained excellence of set design
    • Shirley Prendergast,
      sustained excellence of lightning design
    • Catherine Zuber,
      sustained excellence of costume design
  • Chairman
    • Ross Wetzsteon,
  • Best Production
    • , Peter and Wendy
  • Best Play
    • Naomi Wallace, One Flea Spare
  • Asst. To Committee
    • Charles McaNulty,

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.