Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1998 Hosts

1998 Presenters

1998 Award Winners

  • Voice Judges
    • James Hannaham, Michael Feingold,
  • Sustained Achievement
    • Jennifer Tipton,
  • Special Citations
    • Target Margin Theater, Mamba's Daughters
    • David Herskovits, Thomas Cabaniss, Lenore Doxsee, Erika Belsey, David Zinn, Tim Schellenbaum, John Cameron Mitchell, Hedwig And The Angry Inch
    • Stephen Trask, Hedwig And The Angry Inch
    • Mark Bennett,
      sustained excellence of sound design
    • Alan Johnson,
      sustained excellence of musical direction
    • Karen Finley, The American Chestnut
    • Philim McDermott, Lee Simpson, Julian Crouch, Guy Dartnell, Ben Park, Steve Tiplady,
      for the creators of 70 Hill Lane
    • Buzz Cohen,
      distinguished stage management
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Doug Aibel and The Vineyard Theater,
      for sustained support of artists and creativity in the theater
  • Performance
    • Lea DeLaria, On The Town
    • Mary Testa, On the Town and From Above
    • Tim Hopper, More Stately Mansions
    • David Patrick Kelly,
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Joseph Wiseman, I Can't Remember Anything
    • Heather Gillespie, Mamba's Daughters
    • Kate Valk,
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Marie Mullen, The Beauty Queen of Leenane
    • Matthew Maguire, I Don't Know Who He Was And I Don't Know What He Said
    • Yvette Freeman, Dinah Was
    • Adriane Lenox, Dinah Was
    • Elizabeth Marvel, Therese Raquin and Misalliance
    • J. Smith Cameron, As Bees In Honey Drown
    • Brian Murray,
      sustained excellence of performance
    • Joan MacIntosh, More Stately Mansions
  • Obie Grant
    • Victoria McElwaine, Housing Works Theater Project,
    • Caught in the Act annual one-act festival presented by Threshold Theater Co.,
  • Guest Judges
    • Suzan-Lori Parks, Marian Seldes, Polly Pen, Steven Samuels,
  • Direction
    • Ivo van Hove, More Stately Mansions
    • David Esbjornson, Therese Raquin
    • Jo Bonney,
      sustained excellence of direction
    • Evan Yionoulis, Three Days of Rain
  • Design
    • Darron L. West, Bob
      for his soundscape
    • Mimi Jordan Sherin, Bob
      for her lighting design
  • Best Play
    • Richard Foreman, Pearls For Pigs and Benita Canova

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.