Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

1999 Hosts

1999 Presenters

1999 Award Winners

  • Voice Judges
    • Liz Diamond, Dael Orlandersmith, Mark Russell, Una Chaudhuri, Michael Feingold, Alisa Solomon, Brian Parks, Charles McNulty, Eileen Phelan,
  • Sustained Achievement
    • Wynn Handman,
  • Special Citations
    • Peggy Shaw, Menopausal Gentleman
    • Richard Maxwell, House
    • Carmelita Tropicana,
    • David Cale, Lillian
    • Kim Hughes, Sakina's Restaurant
    • Aasif Mandvi, Sakina's Restaurant
    • Ronnie Burkett, Tinka's New Dress
    • Lisa Kron, 2.5 Minute Ride
    • Basil Twist, Symphonie Fantastique
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Ellie Covan,
      Dixon Place
  • Playwrighting
    • W. David Hancock, The Race of the Ark Tattoo
    • Dare Clubb, Oedipus
    • Christopher Durang, Betty's Summer Vacation
  • Performance
    • Liev Schreiber, Cymbeline
    • Kathleen Chalfant, Wit
    • Daniel Gerroll,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Matthew Maher, The Race of the Ark Tattoo
    • Randall Duk Kim,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Mina Bern,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Darius de Haas, Running Man
    • Viola Davis, Everybody's Ruby
    • Kristine Nielson, Betty's Summer Vacation
    • Swoosie Kurtz, The Mineola Twins
  • Obie Grant
    • The Point, CDC,
    • National Asian American Theater
      674 President Street
      Brooklyn, NY 11215
      Mia Katigbak, Artistic/Producing Director
  • Direction
    • Jim Simpson, Benten Kozo
    • Melia Bensussen, The Turn of the Screw
    • Nicholas Martin, Betty's Summer Vacation
    • Declan Donnellan, Le Cid
  • Design
    • Thomas Lynch,
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • Michael Chybowski,
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Martin Pakledinaz, Costume Design for The Misanthrope
    • Diedre Murray, Score for Running Man
  • Best Production
    • The Wooster Group,

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.