Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2001 Hosts

2001 Presenters

2001 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Marian Seldes,
      Sustained Achievement
  • Special Citations
    • Rinde Eckert, And God Created Great Whales
    • Justin Bond and Kenny Mellman, Kiki and Herb: Jesus Wept
    • Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Lackawanna Blues
  • Set Design
    • Douglas Stein, Texts for Nothing and Saved
    • Neil Patel, War of the Worlds, Resident Alien, Race, I Will Bear Witness
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Theatre For A New Audience,
  • Playwriting
    • José Rivera, References To Salvador Dali Make Me Hot
  • Performance
    • Janie Dee, Comic Potential
    • Bette Bourne, Resident Alien
    • Brian Murray, The Play About the Baby
    • George Bartenieff, I Will Bear Witness
    • Brian d'Arcy James, The Good Thief
    • Pamela Isaacs, Newyorkers
    • John Ortiz, References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot
    • Jackie Hoffman, The Book of Liz
    • Stephanie Berry, The Shaneequa Chronicles
    • Judy Kuhn, Mandy Gonzalez, Anika Noni Rose, Ronnell Bey, Eli's Comin'
  • Obie Grant
    • Soho Rep,
    • Clubbed Thumb,
    • Classical Theater of Harlem,
    • Mint Theater,
  • Music
    • Bill Sims, Jr., Lackawanna Blues
    • Kirsten Childs, The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin
      Music and Lyrics
    • Diedre Murray, Eli's Comin'
      Vocal and Instrumental Arrangement
    • Ed Kleban, A Class Act
      Music and Lyrics
  • Direction
    • Craig Lucas, Saved or Destroyed
    • Michael Greif, Dogeaters
    • Bob McGrath, Jennie Richee
  • Design
    • Julia Wolfe, Laurie Olinder, Bill Morrison, Fred Tietz, Cynthia Hopkins, Howard S. Thies, Pilar Limosner, Tim Schellenbaum, Ruth Pongstaphone, Matthew Tierney, Jennie Richee
  • Choreography
    • John Carrafa, Urinetown
  • Book And Lyrics
    • Greg Kotis, Urinetown
    • Mark Hollmann, Urinetown
  • Best Play
    • Pamela Gien, The Syringa Tree

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.