Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2002 Hosts

2002 Presenters

2002 Award Winners

  • Sustained Achievement
    • Caryl Churchill,
  • Special Citations
    • A.R.T./NY,
      for support of Off-Broadway theater
    • Daniel Aukin and Louisa Thompson,
      direction and set design of (sic)
    • Ingmar Bergman and the Royal Dramatic Theatre of Sweden, The Ghost Sonata
    • Daniel MacIvor, In on It
    • Charles L. Mee and Les Waters,
      playwriting and direction of Big Love
    • Elaine Stritch,
      Elaine Stritch at Liberty
    • The Wooster Group, To You, the Birdie!
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • PS 122,
  • Playwriting
    • Melissa James Gibson, (sic)
    • Tony Kushner, Homebody/Kabul
  • Performance
    • Bill Camp, Homebody/Kabul
    • Reg E. Cathey, Karen Kandel, John Seitz, James Himelsbach, Anthony Mackie, Maria Tucci (ensemble), Talk
    • Christopher Donahue, Monster
    • Linda Emond, Homebody/Kabul
    • Raul Esparza, Tick, Tick...Boom!
    • Juliana Francis, Maria del Bosco
    • Peter Frechette and Reg Rogers, The Dazzle
    • Yvette Ganier, Breath, Boom
    • Martha Plimpton, Hobson's Choice
    • Jeffrey Wright, Topdog/Underdog
  • Obie Grant
    • Ma-Yi Theater Company,
    • Salt Theater Company,
  • Direction
    • George C. Wolfe, Topdog/Underdog
    • Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses
  • Design
    • Kevin Adams,
      Sustained Excellence of Lighting Design
    • Marilys Ernst,
      video for Talk
    • Angela Moore and Michael Schmelling,
      set and lighting design of Drummer Wanted
    • Whit MacLaughlin,
      sound design for The Fab 4 Reach the Pearly Gates

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.