Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2004 Hosts

2004 Presenters

2004 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Pieter-Dirk Uys, Foreign AIDS
    • Tony Kushner, Caroline, or Change
    • Jeanine Tesori, Caroline, or Change
    • Soho Rep, Molly's Dream
    • The Builders Association and motiroti, Alladeen
    • Kyle Jarrow, A Very Merry Unauthorized Children's Scientology Pageant
    • Alex Timbers, A Very Merry Unauthorized Children's Scientology Pageant
    • George C. Wolfe,
      For his stewardship of the Public Theater
    • Martin Moran, The Tricky Part
    • Terry Nemeth,
      Play Publishing, TCG
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • St. Ann's Warehouse,
      Susan Feldman, artistic director
  • Performance
    • Viola Davis, Intimate Apparel
    • Lisa Emery, Iron
    • Jayne Houdyshell, Well
    • Sarah Jones, Bridge & Tunnel
    • Jefferson Mays, I Am My Own Wife
    • Zilah Mendoza, Living Out
    • Maude Mitchell, Mabou Mines dollHouse
    • Brian F. O'Byrne, Frozen
    • Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change
    • Lili Taylor, Aunt Dan and Lemon
    • The acting company of Bug, Bug
      Shannon Cochran, Michael Shannon, Michael Cullen, Amy Landecker, Reed Birney
    • The acting company of Small Tragedy, Small Tragedy
      Ana Reeder, Mary Shultz, Rob Campbell, Daniel Eric Gold, Lee Pace, Rosemarie DeWitt
  • Obie Grant
    • The Civilians,
    • Musicals Tonight,
    • THAW (Theaters Against War),
  • Music
    • Robert Een, Hiroshima Maiden
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Mark Russell,
  • Direction
    • Lee Breuer, Mabou Mines dollHouse
    • Moises Kaufman, I Am My Own Wife
  • Design
    • The design team of Bug, Bug
      Lauren Helpern (sets), Tyler Micoleau (lights), Brian Ronan (sound), Kim Gill (costumes), Faye Armon (props)
    • Derek McLane, I Am My Own Wife
      Set design
    • Derek McLane, Aunt Dan and Lemon
      Set design
    • Derek McLane, Intimate Apparel
      set design
  • Best New American Play
    • Craig Lucas, Small Tragedy

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.

Now Trending