Off-Broadway's Highest Honor

2006 Hosts

2006 Presenters

2006 Award Winners

  • Special Citations
    • Nikkole Salter, In the Continuum
    • Danai Gurira, In the Continuum
    • Robert O'Hara, In the Continuum
    • Adam Rapp, Red Light Winter
    • Jane Moss, Orpheus and Euridyce
    • Jon Nakagawa, Orpheus and Euridyce
    • Ricky Ian Gordon, Orpheus and Euridyce
    • Doug Varone, Orpheus and Euridyce
    • Hunter Bell, [title of show]
    • Jeff Bowen, [title of show]
    • Michael Berresse, [title of show]
  • Ross Wetzsteon Award
    • Soho Repertory Theater,
  • Playwriting
    • Rolin Jones, Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow
    • Martin McDonagh, The Lieutenant Of Inishmore
  • Performance
    • S. Epatha Merkerson, Birdie Blue
    • Ari Fliakos, Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra
    • Scott Shepherd, Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra
    • Gary Wilmes, Red Light Winter
    • Dana Ivey, Mrs. Warren's Profession
    • Christine Ebersole, Grey Gardens
    • Euan Morton, Measure for Pleasure
    • Lois Smith, The Trip to Bountiful
    • Edwin Lee Gibson, The Seven
    • Sherie Rene Scott, Landscape of the Body
    • Julie White, The Little Dog Laughed
    • Peter Francis James, Stuff Happens
    • Byron Jennings, Stuff Happens
    • Marin Ireland, Cyclone
    • Michael Cumpsty, Hamlet
    • Reed Birney,
      Sustained Excellence of Performance
    • Meg MacCary, What Then
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Eric Bentley,
  • Emerging Theater Grants
    • Edge Theater Company,
    • Red Bull Theater,
    • Billie Holiday Theatre,
    • Rinne Groff,
  • Emerging Playwright Grants
    • Neena Beber,
  • Direction
    • Daniel Sullivan, Stuff Happens
    • John Clancy,
      Sustained Excellence of Direction
  • Design
    • Anita Yavich,
      Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
    • Allen Moyer,
      Sustained Excellence of Set Design
    • NTUSA, Abacus Black Strikes Now

Search the Obies

Search this database to review over 52 years of OBIE Awards, including such past recipients as Samuel Beckett and Anna Deavere Smith.